Red Eyed Anonymous: Evergreen

I remember listening to a Prince song once,

Trying to understand the imaginary he painted

The slight curve of the smile that he adored so much

But, instead I met you again.. for a second time

This time I understood that getting lost in your conversation was easy

That this pretty face had a mind more beautiful than the sunset on the longest day of the year

Seeing you too like me, have seen the worse sides of loving a woman.

I related to it,

yet & still

I understood that some shit just feels right

So I caught that vibe & threw it in my pocket

The one closest to my phone just in case you hit me back

Simply because the poet in me can’t help but create stories out of the galaxies that live within your eyes

You see, I can write the most beautiful novel about the innocence of your smile but I’d get carpal tunnel before I reached the last pages

All of these words were meant for a singular vibe,

The one where the forest isn’t masked by the trees

So maybe one day I can write about that time I met an evergreen

🦋

Leave a comment